About Us


Founded in 1990, the W.B. Yeats Society of N.Y. quickly became one of New York’s largest and most ambitious organizations dedicated to the life and work of a particular writer.


The Society sponsors an annual international poetry competition, shares links to other Yeats-related sites, informs Americans about the Yeats International Summer School in Ireland, and assists in establishing other Yeats societies in the United States.


2021 Yeats Poetry Prize Winners Announced

We are delighted to announce that prize judge Spencer Reece has selected winning entries and submitted his report, available here.


Spencer Reece

Upcoming Events


Our 2021/2022 programs have been interrupted by the COVID 19 crisis. We will publish updates and other information as they become available. Your understanding and cooperation are appreciated.

This Program Year
Since we can't hold any in-person programs, for the time being, we've worked up a calendar of online videos that are much like the live programs and videos we present in a more normal time. (In fact, some of them were presented in previous calendar years as in-person events). The first of these programs is the wonderful video produced by Rock n' Roller Bob Geldof, co-written with Yeats biographer Roy Foster. See details and a link to the video below. 


Our September Online Program:
W.B Yeats: A Fanatic Heart (2016) 1:38:44


Musician and advocate Bob Geldof examines the life and work of Yeats and argues that, as a poet and statesman and at the vanguard of a cultural revolution, he brought about immense change in Ireland's struggle for independence without firing a bullet. This incisive, moving, and often irreverent documentary features readings by Bill Nighy, Van Morrison, Richard E Grant, Colin Farrell, Bono, Edna O'Brien, Ardal O'Hanlon, Noel Gallagher, Liam Neeson, and many others. You can watch this video at any time by clicking on the link above. You don't have to watch the video in one sitting but can make a note of where you were in the timeline to return to the same point.

2020 Calendar
with membership form
See note to left on current programming
Nov 3-5
Nov 11
Nov 14